POCKETS. We Want Them.

Why Is This So Hard?

Shannon Page
5 min readMar 3, 2020

--

Photo by Julian Santa Ana on Unsplash

I have this zip-up hoodie sweatshirt that I love so much, I wear it nearly every day.

I love it because it’s comfortable — warm and soft, but also lightweight; I love it because it’s black, and therefore goes with everything else in my wardrobe; I love it because it’s just the right size, fitting me without squeezing my shoulders, and covering and disguising my poochy belly. (Shut up. It totally hides my belly.)

But mostly I love it because it has nice, functional pockets. Pockets big enough to hold the important things: my cell phone goes in the left one; my reading glasses go in the right. Even though I work at home, I need these items with me at all times. If I leave the cell phone in the other room even for a minute, that’s when it will ring; and I am completely helpless without my glasses.

I bought this sweatshirt five or six years ago. It’s held up remarkably well, for a garment that gets worn, oh, say, three hundred (or even three hundred and fifty) out of three hundred and sixty-five days a year…but it’s showing its age. The sleeves are fraying a bit, and the already-thin fabric is getting noticeably thinner. I probably don’t wash it as often as I should, because a) I’m WEARING it here, but also b) every journey through the ole washer and dryer erodes more precious bits of any garment’s…

--

--

Shannon Page

Writer, editor, thinker of things, living on Orcas Island, Washington state. https://www.shannonpage.net